ttflywheels_test_ad

Welcome to the
Tri-Newbies Online Discussion Forum

Advertisement

Getting Started
New Page 1
Tri-Newbies Home ->  Tri-Newbies Online -> Tri-Newbies Online Discussion Forum -> View Thread
Home | General-Tri | Swim | Bike | Run | Training Programs | Wellness | Resources | Links

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Sticky Roll call - Who are you? newbies/lurkers play along
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Tri-Newbies Online -> Tri-Newbies Online Discussion ForumMessage format

danradin
Posted 2009-10-06 5:34 PM (#629413 - in reply to #620834)
Subject: RE: Roll call - Who are you? newbies/lurkers play along

New user

Hi everybody, I'm (1) Dan from (2) Playa del Rey, on Los Angeles' west side. I'm (3) a 29-year total novice to not only triathlon, but all racing. I haven't ridden a bike in 15 years and have never seriously swam in the ocean. Clearly I have my work cut out for me.

I was a chunky, indoorsy kid who became a fat dude in college (5'7" 275lbs) and then dropped 100 pounds through running and diet. I got certified through NASM as a CPT and loved sharing what I had learned about cutting fat and and building muscle. That was eight years ago, and since then, I've spent a lot of time in the gym lifting weights. Weightlifting has been a security blanket for me because, I think, for the first six or seven years following my weight loss, I really felt as though I could easily slip up and the weight would come flying back. Lifting weights has been a way to (a) keep my metabolism high so I can have a little more caloric wiggle room, and (b) make my body muscular, which I enjoy. But I never wanted to be a bodybuilder or a power lifter and when you remove those two possible goals from the picture, you realize that you're training for vanity.